balance field in its record. If it is negative, it needs a credit to zero the balance, and if it is positive, it needs a debit to zero the balance.
You cannot delete a balance once it is created in your ledger. You can only prevent it from participating in any more transactions after its balance has been zeroed.
To close the ledger balances above:
This will close out the ledger balances and you can prevent them from participating in any subsequent transactions.